Home > Entertainment News
2013 VGMAs Industry Awards set for May 10
From: Ghana | Myjoyonline.com | Ernest Dela Aglanu (Twitter: @delaXdela / Instagram: citizendela)          Published On: May 8, 2013, 12:39 GMT
  Comments ()     Email     Print  


2013 VGMAs Industry Awards set for May 10

Okyeame Kwame won 'Song Writer of the Year' last year for his 'Faithful' song

This year’s Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMAs) is inching closer to its climax which falls on May 18.

But before the main awards to be held at the Accra International Conference Centre, there will be an Industry Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 10 where some 10 awards including the ever competitive Song Writer of the Year will be presented.

The event which will come off at the Ridge Arena of the plush Alisa Hotel, with a full course dinner, will honour and celebrate the country's hard working musicians and music industry players.

With an exciting and seasoned array of performers including Raquel, Celestine Donkor, Afriyie Wutah and Nii Lante, the much anticipated night is expected to leave lasting memories of joy in the hearts and minds of the many artistes vying for the 10 awards on offer.

The ten categories include the Gospel Album Of The Year which was won by Gifty Osei's Fefeefe album last year, Music for Development, won by Okyeame Kwame, and Producer Of The Year, won by Apietus on Okyeame Kwame's Faithful.

The categories also include; Sound Engineer Of The Year, won by Kaywa, Traditional Artiste Of The Year, awarded to Guy One, Lifetime Achievement and MUSIGA Merit Honours bestowed on Pat Thomas and Diana Hopeson respectively.

The ever competitive Song Writer of the Year award went to none other than Okyeame Kwame for his Faithful.

This year, the Gospel Album Of The Year is being contested by Obaa Christy's Back To The Sender, Cynthia Maccauley's Wait, Nicholas Omane Acheampong's Zaphanat Panea, Cwesi Oteng's Mercy Project, and Joe Dee Owusu's Christian Life.

The Song Writer Of The Year will be a tussle between Mugeez Abdul Rashid for his Odo, Nana Wiafe Asante-Mensah & George Kwabena Adu for Bye-Bye, Kwame Nsiah Apau for Sika, Akwaboah for Best In Me, Frank Osei Afriyie for Love Of My Life, Kwame Tsikata for Makaa Maka and Nana Yaw Oduro for Not Alone.

Kaywa, Killbeatz, Nshorna Music, Eyoh, E.L., Appietus, and Nicholas Omane Acheampong will slug it out for the Producer Of The Year award.

Nii Ayite Hammond - VGMA Board Chairman and head of Productions at Charterhouse noted that, "In the past we have also rewarded the best male and female vocals on the industry night, but various pundits and industry gurus have strongly criticised this arguing that it’s more talent than technical related and must be taken to the main night.”

“They also advised that the record of the year was more of a technical award that ought to be given on the industry night. So these are the two major changes that have been made to the industry night," Nii Ayite Hammond added.

Comments ( ): Have Your Say >>